Colonel Tanya A. Wehrli

Colonel Tanya A. Wehrli is the Deputy Commander of the 190th Air Refueling Wing, Forbes Field, Topeka, Kansas. The Wing operates and maintains a fleet of 12 KC-135R aircraft and is comprised of 980 military personnel. The 190 ARW provides rapid global mobility airpower and deploys expeditionary forces in support of worldwide combat, contingency, and humanitarian operations while maintaining a nuclear deterrence tasking.

Colonel Wehrli’s military career began in 1992 when she enlisted in the United States Air Force. After completing Basic Military Training and technical school, she served as an Operations Intelligence Specialist. In 2000 she joined the 190th Air Refueling Wing as a Paralegal Apprentice until selected for commissioning. In 2003 she received her commission from the Air National Guard Academy of Military Science and became a personnel officer in the Military Personnel Flight. Throughout her commissioned career she has held several unit and staff level positions including 190th Services Flight Commander, Base Realignment and Closure Unit Conversion Manager, 190th Force Support Squadron Commander, Military Personnel Management Officer (A1), Wing Executive Officer, Air Manpower Manager, and 190th Mission Support Group Commander. 

1992 Basic Military Training, Lackland AFB, TX
1992 Operations Intelligence Course, Goodfellow AFB, TX
1997 Associate of Applied Science, Communications, Community College of the Air Force
2001 Paralegal Apprentice Course, Maxwell AFB, AL
2001 Bachelor of Arts Degree in Criminology, St Leo University
2007 Squadron Officer School Correspondence Course
2014 Air Command and Staff College Correspondence Course
2014 Master of Military Operational Art and Science, Maxwell AFB, AL
2018 Air War College Correspondence Course
2022 Air National Guard Commander Leadership Course, Joint Base Andrews, MD

1. January 1992-March 1992, Trainee, 3701st Basic Military Training Squadron, Lackland AFB, Texas
2. March 1992-May 1992, Student, 3461st Student Training Squadron, Goodfellow AFB, Texas
3. May 1992-May 1996, Intelligence Specialist, 22nd Fighter Squadron, Spangdahlem AB, Germany
4. May 1996-September 1998, Intelligence Specialist, 682nd Air Support Operations Squadron, Shaw AFB, S. Carolina
5. November 2000-April 2003, Paralegal Specialist, 190th Air Refueling Wing, Forbes Field ANGB, Kansas
6. April 2003-September 2008, Readiness OIC, 190th Military Personnel Flight, Forbes Field ANGB, Kansas
7. September 2008-April 2009, Commander, 190th Services Flight, Forbes Field ANGB, Kansas
8. April 2009-November 2012, Commander, 190th Force Support Squadron, Forbes Field ANGB, Kansas
9. November 2012-November 2016, A1, Joint Force Headquarters, Forbes Field ANGB, Kansas
10. November 2016-May 2019, Wing Executive Officer, 190th Air Refueling Wing, Forbes Field ANGB, Kansas
11. May 2019-October 2021, Air Manpower Manager, Joint Force Headquarters, Forbes Field ANGB, Kansas
12. October 2021-May 2023, Commander, 190th Mission Support Group, Forbes Field ANGB, Kansas
13. May 2023-Present, Deputy Commander, 190th Air Refueling Wing, Forbes Field ANGB, Kansas

Air Force Meritorious Service Medal with three oak leaf clusters
Air Force Commendation Medal with three oak leaf clusters Army Commendation Medal
Air and Space Achievement Medal
Air and Space Outstanding Unit Award with two oak leaf clusters
Air Force Good Conduct Medal with oak leaf cluster
National Defense Service Medal with gold star
Southwest Asia Service Medal with gold star
Global War on Terrorism Service Medal
Military Outstanding Volunteer Service Medal
Nuclear Deterrence Operations Service Medal with two oak leaf clusters
Air and Space Overseas Service Long Ribbon
Air and Space Longevity Service Ribbon with five oak leaf clusters
Armed Forces Reserve Medal with two hourglasses
USAF NCO PME Graduate Ribbon with oak leaf cluster
Air and Space Training Ribbon with oak leaf cluster

Second Lieutenant April 18, 2003
First Lieutenant April 18, 2005
Captain April 18, 2007
Major April 19, 2011
Lieutenant Colonel February 17, 2016
Colonel October 1, 2021

(Current as of August 2023)